Feeling sickly

I’m sick. I hate being sick. Bloody flu. I’ve got all the symptoms – headaches, congestion, coughing, sore throat. Basically everything that would make going out and attempting anything outdoorsy very unpleasant.  It’s frustrating because from my sick perch on the couch, the view through the living room window is of blue sky and friendly, fluffy clouds. Sigh and dammit.

Blue sky outside

Blue sky outside

I’ve struggled through a week of this flu without trying to take too much in the way of medication. I’ve found it’s never helped much in the past anyway. Especially when they replaced pseudoephedrine in Sudafed tablets. But today, after several mornings of waking up coughing and feeling terrible, I’ve had enough. My outdoor adventure today was a trip to the chemist, where I bought syrups and gargles and tablets and powders and vitamins. I’m going to try hitting this flu with everything the pharmaceutical industry spends millions  of dollars in advertising saying they can fix.

I know that rest is one of the only things you can do to get over a flu. And it’s something I’m also trying to do. But the itch to go outside, even just for a walk around the block and feel the sun on my face, is almost overwhelming. Hopefully by next weekend I’ll be over this and be able to get out and do something more fun than sitting on the couch feeling sorry for myself.

2 thoughts on “Feeling sickly

Leave a Reply

