Around the bay in a day

Around the bay in a day – tick!

The ride was a couple of weekends ago and all the training paid off. I have my finisher medal.

And boy did I, and the thousands of others on the road that day, earn it.

I did the 210km anti-clockwise ride. So, starting in Melbourne, I crossed the Westgate Bridge, passed through Geelong, then down the Bellarine Peninsula to Queenscliff, crossed Port Phillip Bay on the ferry to Sorrento, and then back up to Melbourne through Frankston and along Beach Road.

Riders assemble in the dark at the starting area

Riders assemble in the dark at the starting area

My starting group approaches the start line - finally

My starting group approaches the start line – finally

I think the best bits were: riding through the city early in the morning in the dark with little traffic around; crossing the Westgate on a bike; pedalling through Queenscliff and seeing its heritage buildings; the lunch provided by the organisers of a chicken sandwich, tasty muesli slice, apple and energy drink; seeing so many bikes and riders on the road; and the happy exhausted feeling at the end of finishing.

Bikes leaving the ferry

Bikes leaving the ferry

The line of bikes waiting to get onto the ferry

The line of bikes waiting to get onto the ferry

Things I didn’t enjoy were: pushing into a hot northerly headwind all the way back to Melbourne from Sorrento; the large packs of cyclists that built up and were difficult to get around; aggressive riders; and the bewildering gestures some riders give for stopping, turning, or pointing to things on the road, I found them more distracting than helpful.

Unfortunately I think the negatives have outweighed the positives and I don’t think I’ll be doing it again.  Nothing against the organisers, though. It was a very well run event. But I also have a “been there, done that” feeling about it now.

The finish

The finish

So what’s next? Well, the Otway Odyssey, a 100km mountain bike race, is coming up in April. I’ve done it the last two years and is an event I’ll gladly repeat. Must try and beat last year’s time!

One thought on “Around the bay in a day

  1. Pingback: Around the Bay in a Day: A First and Final Update | woosworld

Leave a Reply

