A Cyclist’s Lament

A very First World complaint today. Maybe even Seinfeld-esque.

What’s the deal with slow riders you’ve overtaken who creep up to the front of a group of cyclists stopped at a stop light and then need to be overtaken all over again when the light turns green?

I don’t get it.

I’m all for people riding bikes to work. The more the better. But surely there’s got to be some etiquette. I’m not approaching this in a “I’m a faster rider, I’m better, get out of my way” manner. If I’ve been passed and I catch up to my overtakers at some lights, I line up behind them. They’re faster, so let them go ahead.

I look at it from a safety perspective. Overtaking someone can involve risks – you have to swing out of the bike lane into the traffic lane; you have to look behind to see if any cars are coming up behind (and in the process take your eyes off what’s happening in front of you); if there are cars coming, judge their speed to check you’ve got time to overtake; maintain your patience to ensure you don’t make a stupid decision. So if you’ve already done all this overtaking a slower rider, it’s a pain to have to do it all over again after they’ve wriggled their way ahead of you while you’re stopped at red lights.

Sigh. Anyway, as I said, First World problem. But one that irks me as I see it as yet another example of  people failing to consider others and the increasing selfishness of society. Maybe I’m just getting old …

One thought on “A Cyclist’s Lament

  1. stewart

    I think you overstimate the intelligence of your fellow riders. From my observations, the number of thoughtful riders is limited.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

