Daily Archives: March 11, 2021

Asolo boots fail!

There was a downside on my recent Bogong Plains hike – the tread on my Asolo hiking boots started coming off.

Thankfully it happened on the last day and when I was only about 7km away from the car – it could have been worse. I only realised what was happening when I noticed a funny “flapping” sort of feeling from my feet as I walked.

It was an annoying surprise, especially as the boots have only done a few hard, long walks and I’ve looked after them with cleaning and water proofing.

I called the shop where I’d bought them to ask where I could get them fixed (they were out of warranty of course) and why this had happened.

The guy on the phone said the glue had probably failed because I hadn’t used the boots enough. Really? Is that a thing? If you don’t use your boots enough they’ll fall apart? Seems a bit counterintuitive.

Anyway, I got the soles replaced and the boots are near new again. It was an expensive repair but it was cheaper than buying a new set of boots – just! I’m also now doing short walks with them occasionally around the neighbourhood to make sure the glue doesn’t fail this time.

Fixed! I hope.